Four Ways To Spend Money in China

Logan Clements
5 min readMar 14, 2018

Are you getting ready for your first, third, or fifteenth trip to China? You’re probably wondering how you can pay for goods and services throughout your trip. No matter if you’re new to China or it’s your first trip of the year, you need to know how to spend your USDs (or any home currency) as RMBs.

I’ve been living in Shanghai for the past four years and ever since I got here making payments in China has continued to evolve. I’ll layout your top four options and the pros and cons about using each on your next trip to China.

Cash

China is a heavily cash-based society. When I studied abroad in the summer of 2011, I only used cash. I’d found that it was the only method accepted by taxi drivers, cafes, restaurants and bars. Today, you have more payment options but you can never go wrong with carrying cash in your wallet.

China is a very safe country so you should feel comfortable carrying cash on you but just make sure it’s in reasonable amounts. Like in any city anywhere in the world, don’t flaunt how much cash you have in your wallet if you can help it as that might make you a target for pickpockets.

I like to withdraw cash from ATMs when I travel around China, so I don’t usually have too much on me at one time. If it’s your first time coming to China or you haven’t quite figured…

--

--

Logan Clements

Freelance event producer, for sporting events, conferences, galas and more in 🇺🇸, 🇨🇳, & around the 🌏 🎤 Co-host of the Better Events Podcast